OiO.lk Community platform!

Oio.lk is an excellent forum for developers, providing a wide range of resources, discussions, and support for those in the developer community. Join oio.lk today to connect with like-minded professionals, share insights, and stay updated on the latest trends and technologies in the development field.
  You need to log in or register to access the solved answers to this problem.
  • You have reached the maximum number of guest views allowed
  • Please register below to remove this limitation

How to design authentication between my React frontend and FastAPI backend, along with OAuth2.0 to an external service (Spotify)

• Thread starter Thread starter tprebenda
  • Start date Start date
T

tprebenda

I am new to auth and fullstack web development in general- this is my first app! Here's the breakdown:

My users will arrive at my UI, click a "Login with Spotify" button which will redirect them to the Spotify OAuth server to authorize my app to use their data (Authorization code flow).

After authenticating, Spotify redirects back to my UI with an auth code in the URL params. I then grab this auth code and send it to my FastAPI backend, which exchanges the code for an access token and stores it locally (server-side auth). My backend returns "token retrieved" to my UI, and the UI then automatically makes a few requests to my backend for some user data to display in the UI.

This is the backend-for-frontend BFF auth pattern, and it works nicely. When a user requests Spotify data from the UI, the backend adds the access token to the request (basically a proxy) and the frontend never has to worry about token maintenance, for security reasons!